Skip to content

can’t knock the hustle.

April 8, 2013

Life is crazy.  And I don’t want to be one of THOSE moms who are all, “life is so much more busy when you have kids.”  Well, it is.  So I guess I am.  It is for me anyway.  And perhaps it’s because I decided to just jump in head first and start up the business and not go back to a conventional job and there’s daycare and there’s little activities, and traveling and grocery shopping and planning and you know what?  I’m tired.  But not the kind of tired that makes me want to sleep, but the kind of tired that requires a 3 olive martini to recover from.  That, friends, is probably what I should be doing.  Having a martini.  Sleep is good too, but you know? I can sleep when I’m dead.

This morning was a complete crazy show.  It was like we were in an episode of The Osbornes.  Our idiot cat sometimes misses the litter box and craps on the floor.  The Osbornes always had crap on their floor.  Ozzy would go off as Ozzy does, and Sharon would just be Sharon.  Gross.  If I didn’t love animals, I would open the door and let him out forever, but too bad I do, and will continue to put up with him being a jerk.  Usually we’re all over it and can clean it up right away.  But this morning…nope.  Jack doesn’t watch where he’s going (ever) and walked in it.  Right before we’re supposed to leave for daycare.  Of course.  Someone always craps before we’re supposed to go somewhere.  (Usually no one walks in it.) So, kid in the bath, I’m trying to get ready and not murder the cat, answer 20 emails and eat breakfast.  We actually make it out the door on time.  Except I didn’t eat breakfast. Faiiiil.

I just feel like my life is a constant hustle these days.  Each day is crazier than the last, and I love it.  I love that we ditch housework for park time with Jack, or instead of running errands, we’ll spend the day roaming outside in the backyard.  These are the things I now live for.  I don’t care so much about scrubbing toilets or doing laundry.  I don’t care about making elaborate dinners.  This is our time…he’s small and won’t be small again.  I love it.  I can’t wait for summer, longer days, warm summer days.  Hustlin’ doesn’t seem so bad when the sun is shining. 

(ps…for any Jay-Z lovers, my favourite part of that song is the Pete Sampras part.  Only Jay-Z can rap about tennis pros.)

One Comment leave one →
  1. Cassandra permalink
    April 10, 2013 8:34 pm

    I love this pal. It’s so true! Enjoy the time we have with them. Fuck the laundry!

Leave a Reply

