Skip to content

8 months.

September 6, 2012

Because I pretty much suck at life, I have totally missed months six and seven.  Don’t worry, there are plenty of pictures placed neatly in his baby book in my iPhone photo stream that he can look back on later.  I don’t even remember what happened in those last two months, mainly because I was too busy dealing with a child that wants to take books off of shelves, climb stairs, escape his crib, eat paper, ram his head into coffee tables and laugh at me when I tell him no.  If you ask me, if you can’t say the word crawl, you probably shouldn’t be doing it.  While it’s adorable that this tiny little person stands there like a little man, it sure isn’t cool when he’s scaling the ottoman or trying to stuff electrical cords into his mouth.  (Well, we’re baby proof failures.  Whatever.)

So, this is my letter to Jack for his 8th month on this wonderful planet:

Dear Jack,

I’m not even sure where to start.  I apologize for dropping the ball on the last two months of your life, but we’ve kind of been having too much fun to write about it.  I know you won’t remember, but I will, and I can safely say these memories are burned into my brain and I vow to never forget them.  You. Are. Amazing.

From the second you wake up in the morning, to the time you go to bed at night, you are so much fun.  You love being tickled.  You love eating.  You love riding in shopping carts and playing peek-a-boo with anyone.  And your version is putting a blanket over your head, and laughing underneath it.  You have amazing smiles, gummy smiles.  You don’t have any teeth yet, and it will be weird to see you with them, because your big, gummy mouth is always open.  Everything is smooth sailing as long as you have naps and food.  Then we’re safe without incident.

We go to play group sometimes, and you find this weird grandpa doll.  And I SWEAR it made us all have colds, because you put grandpa in your mouth.  Thanks, pal.  You have a funny personality – always smiling and being happy with everyone.

You’re a tall guy, almost 34″ long.  You weigh around 22lbs.  You love Cheerios, chicken and anything with apples.  You are not stoked on broccoli, even if it has cheese sauce.  You love to feed yourself and you’re starting to be able to get the concept of chewing (with your non teeth).  We have some crazy snuggles in the morning, and you like to watch Youtube videos (guilty) in bed.  You like walks, bouncing on people’s knees and chasing Angus.  You’re an all around happy little dude.

I love that you’re in my life.  I couldn’t ask for a better little guy!  Love you so much.

xo,

Mama.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

