Skip to content

the wolfpack.

September 4, 2012

I think as a new mom, there are things you claim are boss in your life and help you get through the day, and also help you cling to what little sanity you have left.  I have an arsenal of things I use day in and day out that I’m pretty sure I can’t live without.  And no, I know what you’re thinking, it’s not Merlot.  Or even Pinot Grigio.  I like to call it my wolfpack.  My mom wolfpack.

Here is a list of things I can’t live without:

1. Caffeine.  I’ve stopped discriminating, and I will take this however I can get it.  It doesn’t have to be a cold cup of coffee…it can be through chocolate, or maybe a can of coke if I’m absolutely desperate.  I’ve tried to get better at putting my coffee in a travel mug so it will stay warm by the time I get around to drinking it, but I’m failing.

2.  My blender.  I started out on a good path.  I made baby food like a champ.  Then it got hot and I got lazy and stuck for ideas and got sick of puree-ing sweet potatoes…so I literally started just blending up our dinner and feeding it to Jack.  When we’re not having things drenched in Sriracha sauce or gross things that would not blend well.  Pizza, for example.  Not a blender food.  He seems to be okay with most things so far.  Win!

3.  Sunglasses.  Hide the bags.  Enough said.  And yes, sometimes I wear them indoors.

4.  My iPhone.  It’s a sound machine.  It’s an entertainment unit.  It’s a music player.  It’s a distraction.  It has Facetime to Nana and Grandpa.  It’s also a phone to the outside world.

5.  My stroller.  I love it.  We use it pretty much every day, whether it’s in the grocery store, on the trails or through our neighbourhood.  Jack really likes taking walks and he’s contained and quiet, so so do I!

6.  Squeezy bags.  Judge away.  Sometimes I can’t be bothered to make his food, pack it up, keep it cold, take it somewhere, whip out a spoon and feed him.  They now make pouches with a convenient spout.  Jack is pretty smart and figured out how to just suck the food out and hold it himself.  He has no interest in wasting food, so it mostly makes it into his mouth.  And it’s hands free for me and fun for him.  They’re a touch pricey, so it’s only for special occasions, but I love those things!

7.  The Internet.  I Google everything.  I ask it questions and it answers.  Magic.

8.  My big ol’ wine glass.  It literally holds like half a bottle.  And not to sound like a total lush, but sometimes it’s fully needed.

The list isn’t really too long, but I love all of the above.  What’s in your wolfpack?

 

 

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Crystal permalink
    September 4, 2012 2:12 pm

    Love reading your posts! Have you heard of baby led weaning? I only lasted a couple of weeks doing purees and then I just gave Chloe pieces of steamed or baked veggies that were REALLY soft so she could just mash it up with her gums. I just put a bunch of things on her plate, little pieces/chunks and let her feed herself….peas, beans, cauliflower, broccoli, yams, sweet potatoe, avocado, apples, squished blueberries, soft watermelon etc. I usually put some butter or coconut oil or even sea salt on the veg. Scrambled eggs were another great one and she usually loved smoothies though some times she wanted nothing to do with them. I usually put frozen blueberries, banana, a little juice, sometimes plain yogurt, spinach or hemp protein powder. We have some great pictures of her with a smoothie mustache and beard! I didn’t feed her solids till ten months though, there were some issues, not sure if that makes a difference. Those squish packs are AWESOME!

    • gosteph permalink*
      September 5, 2012 2:13 pm

      We do some variation of that already, and he’s definitely catching on! I will try the smoothies! I’m sure he will love it. Thanks for reading! 🙂

Leave a Reply

