Skip to content

never giving up.

February 28, 2012

I have a vent.

It’s about understanding.  The people who don’t give you the dirty look in the bank when your baby wants to shriek, but you really need to make a deposit.  I can’t make him quiet.  And I am his world.  Some people just…get it.  The lady at the grocery store who just squeezes your arm and tells you it’s hard, but will be over soon.  People who realize babies are also humans, and so are their parents.  No, I’m not going to take my screaming child to the Keg and ruin your expensive steak dinner.  But can people at least try to be a little more understanding when I am trying to get stuff done in the middle of the day?  I don’t want to be there just as much as you don’t want me there.

Jack cries.  Sometimes for hours, sometimes for just 20 minutes.  The doctor just kept saying colic.  What is colic?  Why is he so mad?  Why doesn’t he like anything?  It’s been 8 weeks.  8 weeks of screaming.  Everyone has been so supportive.  A lot of hang in there, it will pass.  Have you tried this?  Yes, we have tried everything.  It’s very sweet.

Wheat.  Eggs.  Dairy.  Bath.  More feeding.  Less feeding.  More sleep.  Schedule.  Oval.  Gripe water.  Tylenol.  Herbal colic medicine.  Bouncing.  Walking.  Driving.  Singing.  Music.  Hot.  Cold.  Dryer.  Swinging.  Swaddling.  Yelling.  Door slamming.  White noise.  Vacuuming.  The Ergo.  Shushing.  Soother.  Toys.  The cat.  Anyone who thinks they can stop him…

To be honest, for me, it kills me more when people try to ‘calm’ him.  It makes him more mad, thus making me more mad and irritated.  And I don’t want to lose it on you…but I fear one day I might.  I don’t want to leave my house.  But we do.  And it’s the same every time.  I’m tired of driving home from wherever, with me sobbing and trying to focus on the road, and Jack wailing away in the backseat.

I’ve never given up.  Hours of research, trial and error.  My little boy is uncomfortable and it’s killing me.  (No, it’s not gas!!!!)  It can’t just be colic.  He’s hurting.  And so am I.

Finally.  I feel like we have a breakthrough.  Today, in 20 minutes, we’re off to have my theory confirmed.  Whatever I’m doing differently has worked.  We have had 4 days of (somewhat) quiet.  We might be finding out the culprit today… I will update you if I was right or if it’s all just a fluke.

Thank you for the vent.

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 28, 2012 4:00 am

    People are so rude. Seriously. You’re out during the day with a newborn baby. People need to suck it up. You’re doing a great job Steph so keep it up. For the record….I avoid malls, Costco, grocery stores etc as much as posisble during the day because that’s when all the momma’s are out with their little ones. It’s “their” time for sure in my opinion. xo

Leave a Reply

