Skip to content

a terrible, no good, rotten day…with a cherry on top.

February 24, 2012

Today was tough.  Jack woke up in the morning and was already in a snit.  I don’t know what the fuss was about, but he definitely had a bee in his bonnet.  Seriously you guys…the boy cried from 8am to about 4pm today.  What. The. Hell???  This colic business better get lost at 3 months, cause I might lose it.  I finally strapped him into the Ergo and vacuumed.  Might as well do something productive if we’re going to cry all day.  And by we, yes, I mean him and I.

I’m not sure I vocalized it in my pregnancy blog, but I was really, really worried about going on mat leave.  Things are tight in our house, and we’ve been working really hard to get rid of our debts, as well as save for our retirement and Jack’s RESP.  That basically means that a decrease in my wage by 55% was going to be tricky, and would require some careful budgeting to make it work.  Make it work we have, but there’s always a lot of unexpected expenses that suck the funds out.  Either way, I wanted to find some ways to make some extra cash while on EI.  There’s a pilot program being offered right now until August, which allows you to earn 40% of your weekly maternity benefits.  That’s a pretty handsome allowance and I wanted to take advantage of it.  So today, I got a kind of sort of sub-contract job!  Things are looking up.  Way up. So despite the terrible, no good, rotten day, there was a huge cherry on top!  🙂

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. Deb permalink
    February 24, 2012 7:29 am

    Awe Steph, so glad your day finished on a good note! Just me but if these long crying jags continue I would have little (hehe) Jack really checked out – babies cry for a reason and they don’t cry 8 hours if their needs are being met….Hang in there, things are on the turnaround for you!

Leave a Reply

