Skip to content

sleep.

February 22, 2012

Okay, for real.  I was under the impression that babies slept during the day and night at their leisure, and that napping just happened all on it’s own.  WRONG.  Big fat wrong.  The more garbage I read about it, the more frustrating it got and the more I realized that maybe Jack (along with whatever else is bothering him) is just really, really exhausted?

About two weeks ago, I was really, really trying to get him on a schedule.  All of the books I read said that babies don’t respond well to schedules before 10 weeks, but Jack was only 5 weeks at the time, and just so badly needed to have a structured day and night.  So it began.  Nothing about being a parent comes easy, and in the short 7 weeks I’ve been at it, it’s been the most challenging quest of my entire life.  When personal hygiene becomes my escape (a 5 min shower alone is amazing), you know I’m not lying!  I’m a big fan of letting my kid cry it out, and who am I kidding, so is he.  This has really worked in our house, and finally…a schedule has been working very well.  He’s napping for 3 hours in the late afternoon (celebrate!  3 hours of me time!) and twice in the mid morning.  Here’s the excellent part…he’s now sleeping for 12 hours at night, with one early morning feeding/diaper change situation.  It sounds lame, but I equate this feeling of elation to winning a big prize.

So, how’d we do it?  Well…this is going to sound so weird.  Jack likes to sleep and will only go to sleep with a blanket covering his face.  Obviously this gives me great anxiety, because everyone makes it seem like your kid will die of SIDS if they aren’t in a bloody sleep sack, let alone a blanket on their head.  So we have this tiny thin burp cloth, which covers his eyes and head, and leaves his mouth and nose out, and we cover him like a bird to sleep.  How weird is that?  The tiny bird.  So it works.  And you do what works because you need to have sanity and sleep and if you don’t have either, it’s awful.  AWFUL.  The colic is still around, and he cries during his “awake time,” but at least that’s limited and I can count down the minutes until he goes back to sleep if he’s having a bad day.

I am happy.  And so is Blanket. (When he’s sleeping!)

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Brenda permalink
    February 22, 2012 3:15 am

    Hey, good for you Steph!!! The first month or so is always the hardest. Everybody getting used to everybody and yes the schedule is good!!! Me time is also so important so grasp it when you can 🙂 Have a great day! So sorry I missed meeting Jack when you were here, but I was there (actually in Coquitlam). Go figure!

  2. Daniello permalink
    February 22, 2012 8:40 am

    Awesome!! Tiredness was the reason for Charlie’s grumpyness as a baby and it took me 10 months to figure it out!! Can we hire you to train Lily??

  3. Janet Lazare permalink
    February 23, 2012 2:36 am

    You need to make him one of those sleep masks – but I’m with you whatever works!
    G.A. Janet

Leave a Reply

