Skip to content

so…how’s the cloth?

February 6, 2012

When we started thinking about babies, I knew I wanted to use cloth diapers.  There are a lot of reasons, but mainly environmental, and money savings.  So, we ordered our diapers and I hoped for the best.  I did a lot of research and decided to go with Bum Genius.  I also found a close out on some diapers called Tweedlebugs, and ended up getting them for $8 each…which was a total steal.  I ended up with 18 diapers in total.

A lot of people doubted my choice, and I get it.  A lot of the “doubters” were from the era of prefolds, covers and diaper pins.  Long gone, friends.  Cloth diapers have come a long way.  Think 8 track to iPod.

They are awesome!  We’ve been using them for about 3 weeks now, and they’ve been really great.  I have to say…the $8 diapers are way more effective than the ones twice their price (and can go in the dryer), but neither of them have leaked as of yet.  We don’t use them at night, because he’s been sleeping for 7 hours each night and we’d have to wake him up to change him halfway through.  Let’s face it…the fancy gel of disposables definitely absorbs more and keeps baby happy for longer.  And I’m not waking him up if he wants to sleep at night.

Going out with cloth diapers has been really easy too.  We have a portable wet bag, and just put them in there and take them home and wash them.  They come out really clean in the wash (and don’t smell…I put a couple of drops of essential oil in the wash) and we do diaper laundry every two days.  It’s pretty mellow…very easy.  They’re really cute too. 🙂

Check out the model:

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

